Lodge Bros were commissioned to build the Shrine of Remembrance in St Kilda Rd in the late 1920â€™s, early 1930â€™s. In 1947, Lodge Bros were manufacturing a further stage at the Shrine of Rememberance, that being the carving and fixing of the bluestone servicemen on the top of the 1939-1945 War Memorial at the Eternal Flame. When funding became available for the new undercroft development at the front of the Shrine in 2001, the Shrine Trustees were eager to explore the possibility of the original stonemasons who built the Shrine, to complete the new development.
This came to fruition in 2002-2003 when Lodge Bros constructed all the exterior walls of the undercroft development. Phil Luchetta (Managing Director) was able to source and secure the use of the same granite from Tynong Victoria that was used in the original works of the 1930â€™s.
The slideshow below shows photos of the construction of The Shrine of Remembrance during 1929 and 1930.